The Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service

This award was created in 2007 to encourage, identify, recognize and reward public service by faculty of the University of North Carolina system. The selection criteria for the Award includes:

  • Faculty members of any of the 17 institutions of the University of North Carolina system are eligible.
  • Sustained, distinguished, and superb achievement in University public service and outreach, and contributions to improving the quality of life of the citizens of North Carolina.
  • The creativity and impact of a nominee's achievements are of a magnitude that greatly exceeds the normal accomplishments of a productive faculty.


  • Individuals can be nominated by faculty, students, administrators or alumni of Appalachian State University.
  • Nominations are received and reviewed by the University Awards Committee.
  • The highest-ranked nominees are notified and work with the University Awards Committee to develop a portfolio for review by the Chancellor and Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor, and submission to the UNC Board of Governors if selected as the campus nominee.
  • The University Awards Committee recommends up to three (3) individuals to the Chancellor and Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor for final selection as the nominee from Appalachian State University.


  • Detailed nomination letter received by subcommittee chair – September 8, 2023
  • Nominee's completed portfolio with curriculum vitae received by subcommittee chair - September 27, 2023

Nominating Procedures

Submit nominations for the Public Service award using the 2023 Nomination Form - one nominee per form. Please read the above eligibility requirements before submitting a form.

Submit the completed nomination form to the current subcommittee chair. Contact: Holshouser Public Service Award, Subcommittee Chair, Dr. Pennie Bagley -, 828-262-6209