Online Learning and State Authorization

State Authorization is a federal regulatory program that requires all institutions of higher education, as a condition of receiving funding for federal financial aid, to be authorized in and by each state in which they offer educational activities. Educational activities include, but are not limited to:

  • Advertising 
  • Clinical Placements 
  • Online Education Programs 
  • Externships 
  • Faculty Residing Outside North Carolina 
  • Internships 
  • Marketing 
  • Non-Classroom Experiences 
  • Online Degrees & Courses 
  • Practica 
  • Proctoring 
  • Professional Licensure 
  • Recruiting

What does this mean for you?

This regulation may prohibit Appalachian State University from providing any of the above activities, including online degrees and courses, to students who live, or who receive or participate in any of these Appalachian activities, outside the state of North Carolina.

Please contact with questions. Continuing your studies is the ultimate goal, and Appalachian would welcome the opportunity to support you in those efforts.


Appalachian State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, master's, intermediate, and doctoral degrees.

SACSCOC is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Catastrophic Events

Should Appalachian experience a catastrophic event, please refer to the emergency management policy for continuity information.


Phone: 828-262-7559
Toll-Free: 800-355-4084